The Feast After A Long Run: FAIL!

I am having a hard time trying to determine what to eat after a long run. The long run (in the running community), is the activity which will consist of the running highest mileage for the week. This week’s long run was only 6 miles. It can range from 6 miles to 26 miles, depending the race that I intend to run. Generally the long run is the only run where I may feel like feasting immediately after. Here is the problem:

·         Most restaurants are not open or are still serving breakfast food. I’m not crazy about most breakfast foods.

·         I prefer to eat at the house, so that I can shower, eat, and go back to sleep (in that order).

·         Sometimes, even though I ran and should be hungry, I don’t have much of an appetite.

·         I almost always have a taste for a soy misto from Starbucks. Starbucks don’t have good food, to me, though.

·         Cooking is not part of my lifestyle.

So after the run, food was on my mind. I had food at the house that I didn’t want. It was still morning, so I couldn’t think of any restaurants to eat at. I did have a small grocery list, so I went to the grocery store, hoping for some sort of inspiration. Nope. Inspiration did not appear. When I arrived home, I knew it was in my best interest to eat. I decided to have some hummus and crackers, followed with a meal of (Green Giant) Brussels sprouts with quinoa. After I woke up, I snacked some more (with a fruit plate) and decided to run some more errands. I packed my laptop, just in case I might have gotten hungry and choose to sit in a restaurant.

Suddenly, out of nowhere, I start craving French fries. You know, the French fries that come on the side with hot wings. I alter this by ordering only the French fries, wing sauce on the side, blue cheese, and maybe ketchup. It has to be those French fries, because I like the season salt and wing sauce on the side. In my mind, I figure this is something most places can’t mess up. Well that’s sort of not true. I decide to go into a hibachi restaurant. Then I went across the street to Starbucks (they have a tasty caffeinated drink that taste like Tang, I always ask for half water though), got my drink and proceeded to eat.

Here is what went wrong. The ketchup tasted funny. Wing sauce was unusual. The texture was a little thinner than regular wing sauce. And they ran out of blue cheese and gave me ranch. It did satisfy my craving overall. But you know how there is runners high, and yoga zen after the activity? I wanted that “oh wee, that was really good” feeling.

I will keep you updated on how I will resolve this issue. Until then, I’m keeping score:

Poor planning for long run feast:

OOH WEE! THAT WAS GOOD (the feeling after you eat something I crave after completing a long run):

1

0

Leave a Reply

