Hummus With a Zucchini Base Instead of Chickpea Base

Store bought Sabra Hummus is quite tasty. However I am ready to mix it up with a lighter version. As you know, the base for hummus is usually chickpeas. I have seen zucchini hummus recipes for quite a while. My first reaction was “I bet that &*^% tastes nasty”. Over time though, the recipe has intrigued me to really determine how it taste. The one thing about hummus, though, is that you make it very much in the way you would make a smoothie. You add the ingredients in a blender and modify the ingredients (type and amount) to how you see fit. I settled on a recipe from the blog Choosing Raw .

 

Choosing Raw’s Recipe

  • 2 zucchini, chopped
  • ½ cup lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 ½ tsp. cumin
  • 1 cup raw tahini
  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ cup raw sesame seeds

Bookworm’s Modifications

  • 2 zucchini, chopped
  • The juice of one lemon
  • Eyeballed cracked garlic salt to my taste
  • Eyeballed a lot of cracked ground pepper  Eyeballed 1 ½ tbsp. cumin
  • Eyeballed 1 cup store-bought tahini
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • No sesame seeds (I didn’t feel like looking for it in the store because I was ready to leave)

 

Low and behold, I liked it! It wasn’t ooh-wee good, but, it is good enough for me to continue to make this in the future. I also think it will be tasty over a warm bed of quinoa as well. Also, mine was thinner compared to regular hummus (because of so many modification to the recipe). The consistency wasn’t runny.  I like consistency and texture of how I made it, so I do not foresee me adding sesame seeds to this recipe.

Image

(It was really good with the pita chips, but I like regular hummus better when eating it with vegetables).

2 thoughts on “Hummus With a Zucchini Base Instead of Chickpea Base

  1. Pingback: Easy Hummus Recipe | Not Another Hippy

  2. Pingback: Hummus | Foodieblog

Leave a Reply

