Mobility; or Lack There of……

As most of you know, basic weight lifting requires proper form. Proper form, in this case, requires mobility. Mobility equates to flexibility. Physical flexibility is something that I have always had to work at compared to other athletic peers.

Years of running has left me with muscle memory that isn’t very corporative in the respect of CrossFit. One resolution is to buy proper footwear. I has no idea that regular tennis/running shoes are wrong for weight lifting/CrossFit (if you are serious about doing it long term). Apparently, one needs “zero drop” type shoes. I need to find cheaper hobbies.

IMG_0886

My second resolution is to resume yoga at a studio that I used to frequent years ago. I would resort to YouTube or exercise DVDs, but I need some degree of “coaching” or, at the very least, mirrors to ensure that proper form is being executed. I was thinking that I would show up one or twice a week for the month of July. I don’t want to do anything too rigorous, like hot yoga. I am thinking more of a restorative class.

I have done some research online, and the consensus is that yoga pairs well with CrossFit. It appears that yoga and swimming laps pairs well with every type of fitness/sport out there. I think in regards to CrossFit, yoga works well because one can view both of them as methods of conditioning that just so happen to go hand in hand.

2 thoughts on “Mobility; or Lack There of……

  1. I have very tight muscles. I can’t commit more time to a new sport, so I chose to spend more time on pure mobility. Last week I spent two workout days just getting my shoulders and elbows into a better rack position. This week I’ve been practicing it and trying to get my shoulders to give in. My range of motionin the hips and ankles are much better. So soon I can say I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

