Back to Work/New School Year/Consistent Habits

Sometimes  when the new school year begins, I temporarily drift off from healthy eating and consistent exercise. So far, I have had a smooth transition. Right now, I haven’t felt like running. However, I go to Crossfit 3-4 times a week. Throughout the summer, I often went 3 times a week. I went 4 times this week, and I didn’t t feel “broke down”. I think I will stick with this workout routine for a while. So here is my eating routine right now:

Breakfast: Oatmeal, almonds, and  coffee (holds me until lunch time with ease)

At Work:  Vitamin pack and a lot of water

Lunch: Chicken breast sandwich, raw veggies, a few tablespoons of ranch dressing

Snack: Can range anywhere from a Quest bar, to scrambled eggs , to  a few handful of Cheetos. I want to do right and stick with a 1/2 cup of almonds from here on.

IMG_0931[1]

Exercise: Pre-workout and Protein shake

Dinner: Whatever my mind tells me to eat. Regardless if it is healthy or not, I am usually pretty sensible with the portions. I want to get more consistent though. I am currently looking for crock-pot meals to solve this sort-of problem.

I need ideas. What have you all been consistently eating that is pretty healthy? I will keep you guys posted.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Back to Work/New School Year/Consistent Habits

  1. I have the same issues. When I’m busy and in the middle of school, I really want something fast and easy — and that means fatty and bad for me!

    This year, I’m trying something new (besides The Whole 30). I’m prepping meals ahead of time, so that I have at least two options for any given meal. That way, there’s no “I don’t have anything to eat at home, must eat lunch/dinner out or get take out.” I also made two snack baggies – one with an assortment of nuts and the other with these Power Snacks I picked up at a health food store.

    Life changing since I decided to start this before school starts… I don’t feel hungry all the time like I used to. The best thing is I made these mini breakfast quiches (gluten/dairy free) using cupcake tins. I don’t skip the most important meal of the day anymore! 🙂

    • This is the kind of stuff that teacher mentors should have schooled us on the first year lol. I REALLY like the idea of eggs for dinner. I do believe I will try that for dinner, as in I may run out to the store for ingredients. Big thank you for responding!

      • I totally agree with you. There are NUMEROUS things that should be shared during orientation week and first year teacher meetings… eating right, sleeping enough, and relaxing more were not emphasized to the fullest effectiveness!!

  2. I eat almonds every morning, too. I would also recommend Greek yogurt with either a side flavoring (Fage doesn’t have as much sugar as other brands), or with fruit (no need to prep blueberries).

  3. Mix up your eating routine a little and add more variety if possible to keep it from boring you. Instead of almonds eat mixed nuts. Don’t be afraid to include some eggs, multigrain cereal, and mixed cold cuts and cheese and diced fruit with your cereal. Be creative, even varied meat or cold cuts diced is a healthy change of pace. You need fats, carbohydrates, and proteins in your diet to keep it well balanced and healthy. Don’t let your obsession with weight keep you from eating varied healthy organic food if possible. Best wishes. Uldis

  4. I’ve found that meal prepping is the way to go. I do just about all my meals Sunday, box them up and put them in the fridge. I map out my week and it kind of drives my meal planning. This method makes it very, very easy to grab two/three containers every morning and roll out. When I pack up the night before I always make sure I grab two snacks. Depending on what I have to do that day, depends on exactly what I pack. Lots of protein, an extra snack or what.

Leave a Reply

