Because You Might Get Injured…

Yoga, marathon running, and Crossfit seem to be 3 activities that people love to make scary predictions about how one will get injured. It is something that I take in stride because in many cases, it is true. However, with me living in the Deep South most of my life, it appears that I have seen more people get sick and injured from football, poor diet, and/or being couch potatoes.

With that said, I find myself making a lot of modifications depending on energy level, experience, and athletic ability  when I choose to complete a  CrossFit WOD.  I also began CrossFit with a slight knee injury from running; so sometimes I opt out of heavy squatting  or Olympic lifting focused  WODs.  One would consider that cherry picking. That’s okay. While we are on the topic, I think I will discuss the CrossFit moves that I shy away from 100% of the time:

Anything that involves hanging from the bar such as pull ups: I don’t want to fall. I also don’t care for wearing gloves, and I don’t want to mess up my hands.

Jumping on top of  boxes: I tried that once when I was in high school and busted my shin. It left me with a about a 1/2 in scar.

Climbing up a rope or the scaled version: I don’t care for wearing gloves, and I don’t want to mess up my hands.

Head stand pushups: I don’t like being upside down.

Wall Climbs: I don’t like being upside down.

 Yep. So there it is. Take care and be safe, or you  might get injured………

crossfit

2 thoughts on “Because You Might Get Injured…

  1. There are people who get injuries and strains from yoga! Somehow… Maybe someone needs to hang a paper with a reminder ‘listen to your body’.

Leave a Reply

