Double Unders

How do you feel about double unders? To me learning how to do them will be the “easy way” out. I say this because if a WOD (workout of the day) consists of jumproping, it usually will be recorded like this on the whiteboard:

“50 double unders or 100 single unders”

Seeing a person do a large amount of double unders at CrossFit is very impressive to me. But then again, I am easily impressed at CrossFit anyway. Well, I finally got out of the admiration stage, and did the following things:

  • Bought a proper jump rope. It is measured to my height and it is lightweight. It cost me about $20.
  • Downloaded an iTunes app for my phone geared toward performing a tabata (20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest).
  • Began doing a 5 minute jump rope tabata about 3 times a week. I do this before the WOD begins. I usually foam roll after the WOD on these particular days. ( On a side note, I go to CrossFit 4-5 times a week.  When I began CrossFit, six months ago, I was going twice a week and running 3-4 miles two other times a week).

Result: I can do double unders in the following set

Single Jump

Single Jump

Single Jump

Single Jump

Double Under!

Repeat

WooHoo!

To Be Continued.

4 thoughts on “Double Unders

  1. Good for you!! Keep it up. Eventually you’ll get to double single double single. Once you get there, practice and do at least 50 DU a day. Then just decide you’re going to make the switch and one day practice. When I decided that one Saturday I whipped my arms so much I broke blood vessels in both arms!! But I got it! Lol.

  2. Good on you! Keep up the solid practice. As with all things CrossFit, as soon as you think you’ve mastered a skill you find out otherwise mid WOD. Keep plugging away and never get comfortable that you “got it”. How are you able to post videos to your WP blog?

    • I think that is the beauty of CrossFit, because there is so much to master. If it was easy to master, then it would very well become a fad and lose its marketing appeal.

      “Add media” is right above the bold and italics.
      Then go to “insert url”.

Leave a Reply

