Waste Not, Want Not.

Hey gang!

I am still on the food prep kick. At this point, It takes about an hour on Saturday, and about 30 minutes on Sunday. The number one benefit is that it has lowered my grocery bill significantly.

For example:

I almost always go through 2 tubs of raw spinach each week for smoothies, salads,  and eggs. For whatever reason, I only went through 1 tub this week, and the other tub was at risk of spoiling. I can’t have that happen. A tub of spinach is about 5 to 6 dollars in my area. So I put it in my blender with some almond milk, poured it in a ice tray, and in to the freezer it went.

IMG_0995[1]

(2 cubes will go into the blender for 1 smoothie)

I also had baby carrots that also had a few days left before the expiration date. I don’t like feeling pressured to eat anything. Like spinach, carrots have a complementary taste in juices and smoothies. I googled around and referenced this site. So we will see how frozen carrot cubes will play out this week in my smoothies (I will keep you posted).

IMG_0996[1]

(I used carrots, water, and my blender. If you make stocks/broths this process could work for you as well,)

WARNING:Prepare food that you look forward to, or else food prep will probably be counter-productive.

Leave a Reply

