CrossFit: 10 Months Later

I am still going 3-4 times a week. It doesn’t get easier to go there after a long day, but I am somewhat programmed to make it happen most of the time. I am still learning new skills and improving my form. Last week in particular, I PR’ed a 125 one rep front squat. When I get some free time, I need to update my profile picture. Yeah, the one where I was dead lifting 100 pounds for my one rep max. My highest now is 150 pounds.

I am also taking in more protein than I used to. When I started in late March this year, I wasn’t eating meat. I now usually count on eggs, whey, and chicken to help me with this process. It’s made me a better cook  and a frequent dishwasher. It takes a good bit of planning and organizing, but it’s worth it. I cook to sustain myself for 3 to 4 days. Right now I eat food prepared from home about 85% of the time. I don’t many cravings that result in overindulgence, but that may be a result of proper planning.

IMG_1005[1]

(For some odd reason, I was craving Reese’s Pieces. I decided to make due with a few spoonfuls.)

The idea of running 3 to 4 miles still sounds okay, but I can’t believe I used to train for half-marathons as a hobby. Wait even better, I can’t believe I ran a 26.2 marathon. Also, when you consider the gear needed to run to that much, I break even, financially, between the two fitness activities.

I dabble with the idea of doing a competition. Just dabble. As I get stronger and leaner, the idea becomes more realistic. I like the idea of putting if until this summer when I am off and have lots of time to focus on training and recovery.

4 thoughts on “CrossFit: 10 Months Later

  1. I really appreciate meal prepping. I echo your response about grocery bills and time. I don’t count time as an issue, because I enjoy cooking. I sat down earlier this week and wrote out breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks for the entire month of January. I did my shopping list and found what I had in my freezer already. This is a serious undertaking, because I’m going to add my family’s dinners to the mix. Should be fun. Now if I could be this excited about lesson plans. Augh!

    Great job on CF. Keep at it. It never gets easier. We just get better.

Leave a Reply

