#Melowdrama

Before I get to the meat of this blog post, I want to ensure you that melodrama is indeed spelled with one letter l. I know I am “doing the most”, but I like to be together for my fact checkers and receipt viewers.

Anyway, I want to discuss how neurotic I am the evening before a Saturday morning long run.  It’s one of the reasons that  I don’t care to race anymore. It cuts into my hangout time. This is how it usually played out the Friday evenings before:

  • Grocery shop because I knew I would be too tired after the run.
  • Tidy/Clean the house because I knew I would  be too tired after the run.
  • Do laundry for workout clothes and find watch, food, water bottles, etc.
  • Lay out your clothes, gear, food, water bottles, etc.
  • Complain about going to bed early.
  • Go to bed. Late.

THEN, the alarm would go off. It’s worse than that workday alarm feeling…..Not that I would know .

So THEN you have to determine whether it’s worth it. Because that sleep was good. More like amazing. Short answer: If you already paid for a race that helps .For many of us, it also depends on how many people you humble bragged to.

But guess what?! I’m reformed. It took only 26.2 miles to understand that I don’t have to do that mess anymore. Insert the 6 mile limit:

  • I can finish  within an hour and a half.
  • I can go to bed when I feel like it.
  • Pack water/food? Not nearly as much, if any.
  • It’s easier for people to relate to that distance.
  • The hidden cost are lower: food and  shoe replacements, in particular.

Yep. So this Saturday, I will run 6 miles. And that will be that.

short story

(The Bookworm has just finished reading the How to Write a Short Story.  A good friend recommended it. The e-book was .99 on Amazon, so she didn’t have much to lose.)

 

5 thoughts on “#Melowdrama

  1. Any tips on fighting the urge to sprint when the main objective is a long jog? I enjoy running but get bored with jogs and get in the mentality, “Challenge yourself and get this over with”. Hence I never meet my 10 mile goal lol. Please help.

    • Have you considered using an app ?That could give you your mile splits. Also, running with someone slower helps me enjoy the run , even if they turn around after a mile or so. It sets the tone. Trails are helpful to slow me down. Pavement will always make you run faster. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

