It’s Okay. Scale Down and Be Flexible!

 

When I started this blog, I was a fairly high octane chick with a decent level of  down time and optimism. This enabled me to do stuff like train for full marathons or CrossFit 4-5 time a week. I enjoyed the experience, but as far as time and recovery was concerned, it wasn’t sustainable for me long term.

I’m more of a scaled down version these days. Like 10k races and YMCA scale down. I’m signing up for the YMCA this week. It’s time to add cross training into my running. Also the area is scenic and runner friendly, so  I could  go for jog before a yoga class  or bodypump class (for example).

Last week, I signed up for a Labor Day 10k race in my town. I plan to walk/run, long run, and socialize during the run. So don’t judge my time in the next post! The only gag is that that a shuttle will not be provided. So more than likely, I will park my car at the finish line and take a taxi to the start.

uber

(That’s why I’m not taking an Uber. Don’t worry, Uber has a launch date in the area for 9/21/16. )

Also, I am leaning toward buying a 10k decal. Even though I have completed distance races ranging from 5k to 26.2 , it was a couple of years ago. I like the idea of representing my most recent distance.

10k

(Something like this will do. What do you think?)

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Okay. Scale Down and Be Flexible!

  1. Hi there! Thank you so much for visiting my site and joining! I hope I can at least give you a good chuckle now and then. Great blog you have here and it will keep me inspired with my fitness and part time vegetarianism goals.

    • I like using intervals like run 2 minutes and walk 1 minute. There are apps like Gymboss that could help for free. Also, with it getting warmer and humid, I have been slowing down speed wise. I hope that helps. Thank you for visiting my blog!!

Leave a Reply

