Labor 10k Race Recap….. #Slay

Whenever I read another blogger’s race recap, I usually just want to know the person’s race time without doing a lot of reading. So I am going to post it for the people out there who are like me so they can continue on with their day:

1:18:02

Average Time per Mile; 12:35

If you are still with me, I want to talk about how surprisingly fun this race was. To start, in my previous post, I mentioned that I would have to take a taxi to the start line. Instead, I was able to get with a runner friend from  Black Girls Run. Not only did we carpool, but we also ran most of the race together!

The race itself was scenic, zippy, non-hilly, and not too hot. There was a water station at every mile. I’m still glad that I took my water belt, because I got a little thirsty in between each mile.

If it couldn’t get any better, two of my really good friends surprised me came to the race.

img_1668

(I thought the poster my friend made me was beautiful!  #Slay!)

I honestly can’t say that I have another 10k or longer race lined up anytime soon.Racing gives me a lingering fatigue that tends to last for a week or so. I don’t know why that is. I would like to find another 10k race in the spring though.

I need to focus on adding cross training  twice a week consistently. In my mind, I want to run 3 times a week and strength train/do yoga twice a week. It sounds cute now, but after an 8 hour workday, it can be a challenge. I do appreciate that it is starting to get a little cooler. Eventually, I can go straight from work…..caffeinated.

homegoing

(The Bookworm just finished Homegoing. This is her favorite fictional read of 2016 to date.)

Leave a Reply

