December Thoughts: Brace Yourself.

Back in mid-October, I started back with CrossFit and Half Marathon training. It happened on a whim.  A lot of whimsical stuff happened around that time. One could blame it on the full moon but that’s another story for another time.

Around this time of year, marathons crop up. I suppose the excitement  lead me to more running than usual. I am pairing the CrossFit with running for crosstraining purposes. I have been going to CrossFit on strength days twice a week; For the run, I run once during week and perform a long run each Saturday with a training group.

Kid you not, my running store sponsors a FREE half marathon the first Saturday of January every year. It’s the Red Nose Half Marathon. That’s right, a free half marathon that is about 5 miles away from my house.

Image result for red nose marathon

(FREE !! FREE!!!! FREE!!!!!!!)

 

I do have a lingering thought. It’s really cold outside. For example, tomorrow morning’s long run of 11 miles begin with 29 degree weather.  Wouldn’t be cool to celebrate half marathon training by….sleeping in race day? Think about it.

Image result for kermit

(It could be fatique talking. Quiet as it’s kept, I really think it’s the dude on the right talking mess.)

 

I’ve been easing away from the vegetarian lifestyle by eating tuna fish a few times a week to up my protein. Those little Bumble Bee Tuna and Crackers are tasty. I only like the Thai flavored ones. That’s the only seafood I like right now. I don’t have any interest in going back to white meat or red meat.

Image result for bumble bee thai crackers

(It’s delicious!)

I want to get back into meal prepping. Right now seems impossible, but I want to resume doing so after December 16th when I am on Christmas Break from my full time and part time teaching jobs.

 

Image result for outliers

(The Bookworm just finished reading Outliers. Here is her favorite quote from the book:)

“In fact, researchers have settled on what they believe is the magic number for true expertise: ten thousand hours.”
Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success

9 thoughts on “December Thoughts: Brace Yourself.

  1. Canned tuna may be more dodgy than other forms of protein, though. Consider the mercury/shipping/packaging factors. Could you not do as well trying some pickled herring or a shredded tuna steak with a box of crackers?

    I could not nor would I dare run a marathon (or even a half-marathon) in weather below 30 degrees F. The air is harsh on the lungs, for one. It’s also no peach running in weather hotter than 60 degrees. So, in short, I’m not much of a marathon person. 🙂 I’m the cheetah that runs a short sprint when life requires, hoping I don’t do what happened last year, chasing nephews to my doom.

      • I swing close to being a vegetarian but still feel the need for weekly meats, usually lunch meat sandwiches for quick meals and the occasional spaghetti and meat sauce or pepperoni pizza. Most other meats I can get by without. A lamb gyro is nice, once in a while. And, if it’s meat, I do like fried calamari in marinara sauce.

  2. Wait! How much did the Red Nose Half Marathon cost?? LOL! Yeah, ‘free’ is a platinum word, isn’t it? Good for you for getting out there in cold weather. That’s dedication. How is the Crossfit going? I’ve always been way too intimidated to set foot in a box.

    • Yas!!!!Free is a word that makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside!!! CrossFit is fun. It can be a little frustrating to know that I can’t pick up the same heavy weight like I used to do.

      There are a lot of sketchy boxes out there, but once a person finds the right one, it’s magical. They are all FREE on Saturdays mornings. Oh me, I just made myself laugh.

  3. I loved Outliers! It was so interesting! I feel ya on that January half marathon, if it’s under 20 degrees I can’t get myself to go outside!

Leave a Reply

